INTERVJU MED CHASKE SPENCER

University Link Magazine's intervju med Chaske Spencer.

ULM: [Sam Uley] is a very conflicted character, recovering after a very tormented and painful past. Was it a challenge to maintain a really emotionally draining mindset during filming?

CS: It was. It was tough because I had to separate myself from the rest of the cast, where I had to go off and find that place where I need Sam to go .. I did my research on the role and he comes from a very traumatic past. What helped me do that was [the writing of] Stephenie [Meyer] and also the director and of course a lot of music as well .. He’s a very tragic character.

ULM: What’s the biggest adjustment you’ve had to make following your involvement in New Moon [both] as an actor and a person?

CS: As an actor..It can be challenging sometimes because fans have an expectation, but I sort of had to let that go when I first got on the set. I had all these ideas where I  wanted to go,  but it’s good to have those limitations from the text, the script and the book because it gave me something  to work with and I [didn't have to] search for a character .. I just wanted to make sure he  had that tragic  vibe to him; that tragic  aura. As for me personally ..I’m pretty  private in that I like maybe holding back and trying not to do so much press and just keeping my anonymity somewhat .. But I’ve decided  to have fun with it, so I’m just going to ride this out and see where it goes.ULM: Do you think maybe you’ll return to independent film?

CS: From what I’ve seen , the cast is pretty level-headed — they’re all quite grateful of having this job because .. we’re all unknowns .. and all of a sudden , I don’t want to pat our own backs or anything, but we’ve been launched into the center of the attention of the world. I think everyone’s dealing with it in his own way. The whole cast is amazing. They’re all really humble and grateful and when it comes down to tabloids, you just don’t pay attention to it.

ULM: The Twilight series has  helped bring Native American culture to the attention of  a new generation. What are your thoughts on the way it’s portrayed in the film?

CS: Of course, it’s a movie and it’s Hollywood .. but what I like about it is that it put it on the map. Also, it’s made a whole new generation look at Native American actors in a different light; contemporary — very contemporary. It really puts a whole different spin on it .. and in the end it is a pretty big deal for Native American actors and Native culture. It’s opening a lot of doors for Native American actors and I really appreciate that.

[Källa]

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0